Election Results

Nebraska County Websites

Sheridan County

Our new website was brought online in May of 2019 with the help of MIPS Inc.  MIPS Inc is the Technology Services Division of the Nebraska Association of County Officials (NACO).  NACO's website address is  nebraskacounties.org

local jobs

Login and Enroll Code RedGet the Mobile AppGet Code Red

Our online forms and documents are in PDF format. If you do not have the latest Adobe's PDF reader installed, click on the Adobe PDF image below.

get adobe reader

Served by Webserver

Public Notices

Board of Commissioners Meeting Agenda

Board of Commissioners Meeting Minutes

We invite you to browse our web site to learn about the various County offices and the services Sheridan County, Nebraska offers its citizens. Courthouse hours are from 8:00 - 4:30, Monday - Thursday and 8:00 - 1:00 on Friday, except on holidays.

By land area, Sheridan County is the fourth largest county in the State. It is 36 miles wide by 69 miles long. According to the U.S. Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 2,470 square miles. The population of Sheridan County in 2020 was 5127. The economy is primarily Agricultural.

The southern portion is sandhills range land while the north contains pine covered hills.  The Mirage Flats Irrigation District south of Hay Springs is irrigated by water from the Box Butte Reservoir. There is considerable farming, both dry land and pump irrigated, either side of US Highway 20. 

There are four incorporated communities in Sheridan County. They include the County Seat of Rushville (population 816), Gordon (population 1504), Hay Springs (population 599), and Clinton (population 38).  There are also five unincorporated villages within the county's boundaries. They are Antioch, Bingham, Ellsworth, Lakeside, and Whiteclay.

rushville forecast