Sheridan County


Located North of Hay Springs the Beaver Wall is a sharp contrast to the rolling sand hills located in southern Sheridan County.

By land area, Sheridan County is the fourth largest county in the State. It is 36 miles wide by 69 miles long. According to the U.S. Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 2,470 square miles. The population of Sheridan County in 2010 was 5,469.

The economy is based mainly on Agriculture. The southern portion is sandhill range land while the north contains pine covered hills. Depending upon water from the Box Butte Reservoir, Mirage Flats Irrigation District is located south of Hay Springs. There is considerable farming, both dry land and pump irrigated, either side of US Highway 20.

There are four incorporated towns within the County of Sheridan. They include the County Seat of Rushville (population 850), Gordon (population 1612), Hay Springs (population 570), and Clinton (population 41). There are also five unincorporated villages within the county's boundaries. They are Antioch, Bingham, Ellsworth, Lakeside, and Whiteclay.