COMMISSIONERS MINUTES

MAY 21, 2024

The Sheridan County Commissioners met in regular session and by Zoom (ID# 93997918251 Passcode# 625274) at 9:15 A.M. All members present along with Clerk Sindy Coburn, Treasurer Renee Thies, Clerk of District Court Clerk Carol Stouffer and Interim Road Superintendent Rod Norton.

Krotz stated that the meeting would be conducted in accordance with the provisions of the Nebraska Open Meeting Act. This meeting was posted on the official County website and posted in the Sheridan County Journal Star on May 15, 2024.

Kling made a motion to accept the agenda. Messersmith seconded the motion. With a roll call vote all voted aye. Messersmith made a motion to approve the minutes of 5-7-2024. Kling seconded the motion. With a roll call vote all voted aye.

The board audited and approved salary claims and signed claim checks.

The board reviewed a subdivision request for Maurice J and Sandra S Hathorn. Kling made a motion to approve Resolution #2024-7 authorizing the subdivision of land in Section 3-Township 33-Range 44 for Maurice J and Sandra S Hathorn. Messersmith seconded the motion. With a roll call vote all voted aye.

Interim Road Superintendent Rod Norton was present to give an update on the road department. Norton reported that the V-Plow is at Nebraska Machinery and is ready for delivery. The Ranco trailer will be delivered next week. Norton reported that he is working with the State on getting millings in the future. The board will open gravel hauling bids next week.

The elected officials present discussed wages/salaries for the coming year and the cost of living increase. The board stated that social security set the COLA at 3.2% and they are committed to give that, but will need to wait until closer to budget time to see what the valuation and levy are.

Melissa Mracek, 4-H Educator, presented her monthly report of activities to the board. Mracek informed the board that Marie Nelson has resigned her position and they will be advertising soon.

Adjourn: 11:45 A.M.

Attest: Sindy L. Coburn, Clerk James Krotz, Chairman