## **COMMISSIONERS MINUTES**

## **JANUARY 9, 2024**

The Sheridan County Commissioners met in regular session and by Zoom (ID# 93997918251 Passcode# 625274) at 9:15 A.M. on January 9, 2024. All members present along with County Clerk Sindy Coburn, Treasurer Renee Thies, District Court Clerk Carol Stouffer and Rod Norton.

Messersmith stated that the meeting would be conducted in accordance with the provisions of the Nebraska Open Meeting Act. This meeting was posted on the official County website and posted in the Sheridan County Journal Star on January 3, 2024.

Krotz made a motion to accept the agenda. Kling seconded the motion. With a roll call vote all voted aye. Krotz made a motion to approve the minutes of 12-26-2023. Kling seconded the motion. With a roll call vote Messersmith abstained and Krotz and Kling voted aye.

With this being the first meeting of the year the board had to reorganize. Kling made a motion to appoint James Krotz as Chairman of the board for 2024 and Bruce Messersmith as Vice-Chairman. Messersmith made a motion to seize nominations. With a roll call vote all voted aye.

Commissioner Krotz asked for a moment of personal privilege to honor retired Road Superintendent Richard Cross with a Proclamation of Honor recognizing his 19 years of service to the County.

Messersmith made a motion to re-appoint the current members to serve on the following boards with the others to serve as the alternates. Krotz seconded the motion. With a roll call vote all voted aye.

Messersmith: Region 1 Behavioral Health, Region 1 Office of Human Development, Panhandle Development Disabilities Services, Senior Service Inc-Panhandle Trails

Krotz: Community Action, Emergency Management, Extension, Tourism

Kling: SWANN, Aging Office of Western Nebraska, Panhandle Public Health

Messersmith made a motion to designate the County Website as the official means of notification for meetings, with James Krotz as the webmaster and to designate the Sheridan County Journal Star as the official newspaper of record. Krotz seconded the motion. With a roll call vote all voted aye.

Kling made a motion to adopt Resolution #2024-1 designating BMO of Gordon, First National Bank of Gordon, NPAIT Financial, Security First Bank of Rushville and Hay Springs as the depositories for County funds. Krotz seconded the motion. With a roll call vote all voted aye.

Messersmith made a motion to re-appoint Sindy Coburn, Sheridan County Clerk as the NIRMA Contact Person. Krotz seconded the motion. With a roll call vote all voted aye.

Kling made a motion to appoint Rod Norton as the Interim Road Superintendent. Krotz seconded the motion. With a roll call vote all voted aye.

Krotz made a motion to set the 2<sup>nd</sup>, 3<sup>rd</sup>, and 4<sup>th</sup> Tuesday of each month, except for designated holidays, as the regular meeting date for board meetings. Messersmith seconded the motion. With a roll call vote all voted aye.

Tod Sherburn visited with the board about gravel hauling. Sherburn informed the board that his company had been asked to stop hauling. Sherburn wanted to make sure that the board did not have any problems with his company. The board was not sure why he was asked to stop hauling but reassured Sherburn that they had no issues.

Rod Norton, Interim Road Superintendent stated that he has hired Creative Tech Computer Service out of Alliance to go thru some of the records at the department. Norton also informed the board that he has hired 3 new employees.

Krotz made a motion to approve a Memorandum of Understanding with the Nebraska State Department of Veterans Affairs regarding access to the Department's computer system. Kling seconded the motion. With a roll call vote all voted aye.

Krotz made a motion to approve an Interlocal Agreement with Region 23 Emergency Management regarding the update of the Hazard Mitigation Plan for all counties and municipalities in the Region. Sheridan Counties match is \$1,162. Kling seconded the motion. With a roll call vote all voted aye.

At 11 A.M. the board opened the Roadside Mowing Hearing. No one present to protest the assessment. At 11:20 A.M. the board closed the hearing. Kling made a motion to adopt Resolution #2024-2 assessing 3 parcels of land belonging to Sandra Koinzan (NE1/4 Sec 10-30-46, N1/2 Sec 11-30-46 and the N1/2 Sec 34-31-46) in the amount of \$300.00. Messersmith seconded the motion. With a roll call vote all voted aye.

Kling made a motion to adopt Resolution 2024-3 approving a subdivision of land in SW1/4 of Section 35, Township 31, Range 46 for

Great Plains Farms, LLC. Krotz seconded the motion. With a roll call vote all voted aye.

Kling made a motion to adopt Resolution 2024-4 approving a subdivision of land in SE1/4 of Section 23, Township 30, Range 44 for Great Plains Farms, LLC. Messersmith seconded the motion. With a roll call vote all voted aye.

Krotz made a motion to adopt Resolution 2024-5 approving a subdivision of land in the S1/2NE1/4 of Section 26, Township 27, Range 44 for Lyndon J Hooper. Kling seconded the motion. With a roll call vote all voted aye.

Sheriff's Secretary Carol Tiensvold reported to the board that prisoners are once again being lodged in the jail. The door project is not complete and Tiensvold says they do not have a timeline for completion. Tiensvold also informed the board that juvenile detention costs will be up in the future.

Jeff Davis visited with the board to review the claims that he submitted for payment for the Jail project.

Adjourn: 12:15 P.M.

Attest: Sindy L. Coburn, Clerk Bruce Messersmith, Vice Chairman